Press Release


John Bailey’s treble joy in

 the Don Morgan Trophy


The fourteenth annual running of the Don Morgan Trophy, generously sponsored by The Co-operative Funeralcare, was once again hosted by Craig-y-Don Bowling club on Sunday 30th September.


On unfortunately a wet day for bowling 32 players from both Wales and England still produced outstanding entertainment for spectators on a green that remained in superb condition despite the weather.  


John Bailey (Llanrwst) won his third Don Morgan title by defeating defending champion and also a three times winner Craig Richardson (Colwyn Bay), with an excellent performance 21-13 in the final.


John and Craig, who both played extremely well all day, served up a thrilling final which had very high quality bowling throughout the match.


The Trophy, plus the £300 first prize was presented by Richard Owens on behalf of the sponsors Co-operative Funeralcare.


Tournament organiser Roger Morgan, on behalf of his family, thanked Craig-y-don Bowling Club, the bowlers and spectators for supporting this event held annually in memory of his father.


A raffle was held which raised £130 for the local St David’s Hospice.


Quarter Finals:


A  Bailey (Llanrwst) 21 C Lewis (Conwy) 5

C Richardson (Colwyn Bay) 21 N Charlton (Holywell) 10

N Hughes (Sunny Rhyl) 21 D Jones (Rhos Park) 7

J Bailey (Llanrwst) 21 L Scott (St Asaph) 19


Semi Finals:


C Richardson (Colwyn Bay) 21 A Bailey (Llanrwst)14

J Bailey (Llanrwst) 21 N Hughes (Sunny Rhyl) 8




J Bailey (Llanrwst) 21 C Richardson (Colwyn Bay) 13


Best Lady Award : Abigail Wynne Jones (Denbigh)


Highest Break Prize: John Bailey (Llanrwst) with a break of 17.